Let's find what you're looking for

10 technical college students earn EMS scholarships

feed News and More

clinical_notes Featured in this article

10 technical college students earn EMS scholarships

Nine students from the emergency medical services program at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College and one student from Lakeshore Technical College have been awarded scholarships from Aurora BayCare Medical Center and the BayCare Clinic Foundation.

NWTC students Amanda Corrao, Deb Agate, Elliot Chier, Hayden Weininger, Liam Ledford, Melissa Bushmaker and Samantha Verhagen each received $500 grants in support of their work toward becoming emergency medical technicians. The students are enrolled with the Green Bay campus.

John Senkbeil, a student at LTC in Cleveland, Wisconsin, and NWTC students Sarah Daul and Servando Garcia each received $1,500 grants toward their work to become paramedics.

“The EMTs and paramedics are a vital extension of the emergency medical care we provide our patients in the emergency department,” Sorrells said. “This collaboration with NWTC, LTC, Aurora BayCare Medical Center and the BayCare Clinic Foundation offers a great opportunity for us to support these up-and-coming professionals while simultaneously contributing to the long-term health of our community.”

NWTC is a certified training center for emergency medical technician and paramedic education and is a regional training center for the American Heart Association.

LTC’s emergency medical technician-paramedic program prepares students to obtain the required licensure to be employed and/or practice in Wisconsin.


Published: Wednesday, November 18, 2020