Let's find what you're looking for

8 NWTC students earn EMS scholarships

feed News and More

clinical_notes Featured in this article

Eight NWTC EMS students and Dr. Christopher Sorrells

Eight students from the emergency medical services program at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College have been awarded scholarships from Aurora BayCare Medical Center and the BayCare Clinic Foundation.

The awards were issued in collaboration with Dr. Christopher Sorrells, an emergency medicine physician with BayCare Clinic.

Beth L’Huillier, Matthew Reed, Kayla Rowe and Benjamin Werner each received $500 grants in support of their work toward becoming emergency medical technicians.

Josh Luebke, Jed Meidam, William Mencel Jr. and Jacob Pardowsky each received $1,000 grants toward their work to become paramedics.

“The EMTs and paramedics are an important extension of the emergency medicine we provide in the emergency department,” Sorrells said. “This collaboration with NWTC, Aurora BayCare Medical Center and the BayCare Clinic Foundation offers a great opportunity for us support these young professionals and contribute to the health of our community.”

The EMS department at NWTC is a certified training center for emergency medical technician and paramedic education and a regional training center for the American Heart Association.

Published: Tuesday, November 19, 2019